The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

At first I struggled to read this book. I was too sad. The title essay made me cry, because it summed up how I was feeling in that moment. Also, because I’d already read the introduction and knew the tragic circumstances for seeing Marina’s words in print. Once I got over myself and dived into Marina’s stories and essays, I instead found myself uplifted and inspired. She was so talented. Her voice fresh and distinctive and, every time I started the next piece of her writing, it was comfortingly familiar. She seemed to share so much of herself through her writing. I admire that bravery and that boldness and I’m thankful I got to see a brief glimpse of it.

View all my reviews

Originally posted to Tumblr on 6 August 2015

