It’s the 15th of November and I’m halfway through National Novel Writing Month AKA NaNoWriMo.

I’m exhausted. My house is a bit messy: my washing is half-done, I have a small mountain of an ironing pile and the bathroom is desperately in need of a clean. I think I’ve developed some sort of repetitive strain injury in my wrist. I’m fueled by the unhealthy combination of Haribo, marshmallows and Wispa hot chocolate.I’ve written in cafes, in the doctor’s surgery waiting room and at my desk at work (on my lunch break, obviously, in lieu of going outside and breathing fresh air like a normal human being). I’ve written on my computer, on my phone, in my notebook.

I’ve counted and recounted words. My calculator has seen more action in the last 15 days than it has all year. I religiously check the novel stats on the NaNoWriMo website to see how far ahead or behind I am.

There was that depressing day when I only wrote 187 words. But there was also the day when I wrote 3,477 words. (That was yesterday. A good day.) Some days, I’ve made up the word count with random scenes that may or may not make the final cut. Other days, I’ve actually struggled to stop writing as one long scene tumbles out and feels like a keeper.

It’s the halfway point and I’m halfway there.

I have over 25,000 words to show for all this effort. And I’ve got 15 more days to prove myself all over again.

Time + Work = Novel” (Stephanie Perkins)

Originally posted to Tumblr on 15 November 2015

