I was very excited to see that the official Allegiant Trailer had been released last night. Despite my mixed review of Insurgent, which I felt favoured special effects over the emotional development of the characters, I wanted to see if this franchise could redeem itself in the penultimate installment.

The third and fourth movies are not called Part 1 and Part 2 like Harry Potter, Twilight and The Hunger Games but named Allegiant and Ascendant respectively. I was initially pleased about this originality, then concerned that it would mean some major changes from the source material.

So I watched the trailer with some trepidation and – maybe it’s just me – but I couldn’t see Veronica Roth’s book anywhere.

Yes, they leave the city and go over the wall but, after that, it didn’t seem to represent anything I remember from the book. “Outside” looked like another planet. And where is the airport? I don’t remember Tris being the only genetically-pure human. Weren’t there others? And what did he mean about Chicago being a safe-haven from the “toxic environment” – does he mean the gene war or something else entirely?

In fairness, I have only read Allegiant once (mainly due to its traumatising-ness – I was unable to pick up another book for a month) whereas I’m more familiar with Divergent and Insurgent after multiple reads. Still, I felt like I would recognise the book straight away and I struggled to match up this trailer with what I remember reading.

I’m not a purist when it comes to book-to-film adaptations. I’m pretty flexible as long as it captures the feel of the book and portrays the characters faithfully, so I’ll try to keep an open mind until I see the movie in full. The trailer did make it look exciting and action-packed (and Theo James is always a bonus) but I am just worried I won’t recognise Allegiant when I finally see it on screen.

Originally posted to Tumblr on 14 November 2015

