Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m giving this book 4 stars because I enjoyed it but it didn’t have quite the same impact on me as Anna and Lola. It took me longer to get to know Isla whereas Josh filled the pages from the beginning. Their love story felt more fraught and developed more quickly than the others, but that didn’t make the ending any less enjoyable. There are still lots of moments to gush about. I liked how the action was spaced over 3 cities and I loved all the descriptions of Josh’s art, particularly the graphic memoir that had intrigued me in Anna. It was good to see old characters again, of course, and I loved the return to Point Zero. Anna, Lola and Isla sit nicely together as a trilogy but each girl is really distinctive, which I love.

View all my reviews

Originally posted to Tumblr on 16 November 2015

