Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book. It was a little deeper, a little more complex than Anna, but had the same slow-burn. There was more history between the characters and so it felt like there was more at stake. I loved the description of Lola’s costumes, the relationship with her family and the contrast between brooding Max and adorable Cricket. I was so happy to see Anna and St Clair again and find out they were secondary characters in this book, not just a passing mention. The ending of Lola made me smile and keep smiling after I’d finished. At first I gave this 4 stars but when it still had me smiling the next day, I had to upgrade it to a 5 (equal with Anna).

View all my reviews

Originally posted to Tumblr on 5 November 2015

