Today in Amsterdam, I set out to find the famous bench from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. I love this book and the film too, so I was quite excited to find it.

In the film, Hazel and Augustus sit on this bench during their trip to Amsterdam and it’s a pivotal moment (that made me cry!)

It took us a while to locate the bench and it was rained a lot today so we got a bit soggy. But I, at least, thought it was worth it.

When I saw the two benches across the canal, I wasn’t sure which was the right one. Up close it was obvious. Lots of fans had been there before me and decorated it with messages and quotes. Some had attached little padlocks.

I didn’t add a message myself (it was raining) or even sit on it for long (ditto), but I’m glad I made the effort to find it. It’s a special little spot on a tree-lined street, right where two canals meet.

I just wish the weather had been better!

Originally posted to Tumblr on 4 September 2015

