edit2015books

So, the end of 2015 is fast approaching and it’s time to reflect on my reading year. I record all the books I read in my Goodreads account and this year they tell me I’ve read a grand total of 29 books. Not particularly amazing but it’s been a crazy busy year so I won’t be too hard on myself.

So how does the year stack up?

20151231_130959edit

Well, I read the final installments of three amazing series this year: the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead, the Legend series by Marie Lu and the Penryn and the End of Days series by Susan Ee. All were epicly brilliant and highly recommended.

20151231_130408 - Copy
I also started and finished two contemporary series. There was Jenny Han’s duology with To All The Boys I Loved Before and the sequel P.S. I Still Love You that I read this summer. Then I met Stephanie Perkins’ girls Anna, Lola and Isla in the autumn, hunting down some of the Anna/Isla locations in Paris too.

In between, I read some e-books in the form of the Shadowhunter Academy (still a few left to download and read in 2016), an essay/short story collection by Marina Keegan called The Opposite of Loneliness, and the whole 29 pages of The Beat of Heart Stones by Linda Cracknell. Inspired by the musical of the same name, I read the rather zany Wicked and also trudged through Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver during the terrible reading slump of spring 2015 (by the way, this book was actually probably quite good).

I started the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, which looks like it’s going to be excellent (I got Crown of Midnight for Christmas, yay!) and also tried and failed to get into the Dorothy Must Die series by Danielle Paige.
IMG_20151231_133329
I made an effort to read more Sarah Dessen books this year and add to my – until recently – rather small collection. I didn’t find a book I loved more than This Lullaby but I did enjoy The Truth About Forever, Last Chance, Just Listen, The Moon and More and the brilliant Saint Anything. I also finally got round to reading Rainbow Rowell’s Landline (and loved it!) at the beginning of the year and then devoured Carry On when it came out this autumn.

If I had to pick my favourite book that I read in 2015, I think I’d choose Carry On. It was just that amazing. Even now, I can’t quite describe why I love it so much, I just do. In a close second place is Anna and the French Kiss, with Champion picking up the bronze medal.

I’m now busy thinking up my new year’s resolutions for 2016 and my goals for reading and writing during the year – I’ll be posting these tomorrow.

Happy New Year!

Edit: Sorry, Goodreads, better make that 31 books. I managed to finish Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley and read the teeny-tiny book A Faraway Smell Of Lemon by Rachel Joyce before midnight.

Originally posted to Tumblr on 31 Decmeber 2015

Save

