WindowsHomepage

Let’s face it, I was never going to be the world’s most efficient or prolific blogger. I work full time in an often demanding job, I’m trying to write a novel in any spare time I have and I’m also a painfully slow reader. However, I didn’t anticipate that I would have to abandon my blog for almost a month.

Four weeks ago today, I’d just come back from Edinburgh, where I’d spent the week reading, writing and researching. I’ve set my half-written novel in the city and wanted to confirm the details of some locations I’d written from memory and find new places to set important scenes.

I walked and walked that week, stumbling upon some amazing hidden-away places and also streets I wouldn’t want to walk alone at night. I sat in on a session at the Scottish Parliament, explored every inch of Calton Hill and photographed Charlotte Square from every possible angle. I mapped the footpaths leading up to Edinburgh Castle, found the old city walls and ate dinner in a pub called The Last Drop.

It was a brilliant week. I came home with lots of inspiration and was itching to get writing on my return. There was one problem: my computer wouldn’t start. I tried everything I could think of to fix it, taking it apart and putting it back together again, but eventually realised the problem was way beyond my skills set to fix and off it went for repair.

I wasn’t completely lost without it as I could still do some things (e.g. social media) on my phone. I also had an old netbook that I continued writing on but it wasn’t the best with it’s tiny keyboard and it was incredibly slow, not capable of doing much more than a simple Google search. Every time I tried to use Tumblr or Goodreads, it had a major tantrum.

So I was very relieved today to pick up my computer (with its new motherboard) and get back to my blog and my novel properly. I’ve really missed both and can’t wait to type up the ideas I have on paper. I also need to catch up on my book reviews.

ToReview

Since I’ve been away from my blog I’ve been reading the following books:

  • Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  • The Evil We Love (Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy) by Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
  • Kindred Spirits (World Book Day) by Rainbow Rowell
  • Spot The Difference (World Book Day) by Juno Dawson
  • The Second Love Of My Life by Victoria Walters (still to finish)

I’ve got quite a back-log of reviews to get through so you’ll start seeing these in the next few days.

Originally posted to Tumblr on 16 April 2016

