Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book. It is understated but brilliant; sweet and clever and heartbreaking. Set over a twelve-hour period, this book sees Clare and Aidan on their last night before college. The countdown throughout the book gave it a sense of urgency, a feeling that this couple are racing against time. It made a nice change to read about an established couple, who are reliving the best moments of their two year relationship. So many Young Adult books are about the beginning of romance – the build up – rather than the comfortable day-to-day reality of a long term relationship. I was impressed by the maturity that Clare and Aidan showed as they came to their decision. I cried a lot during the last few chapters, reminded of my own experiences, but I loved the open ending. This felt like a grown up YA (almost NA) with the transition to adulthood almost complete. This is definitely a book I will re-read and I’ll also be looking up Jennifer E. Smith’s other books.

View all my reviews

Originally posted to Tumblr on 4 June 2016

