Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Lady Midnight is everything you’d want from a Cassandra Clare book. In fact, it’s everything you’d want from any book, ever. It’s full of magic, mystery, action and romance, with heart-breaking twists and turns and lots of fun, interesting characters. This first installment of The Dark Artifices felt fresh and new, even though its the tenth novel set in Cassandra Clare’s world of Shadowhunters. I loved every single character pretty much from the first page. Julian and Emma felt like characters I had known for a long time; they carried this story and look set to be the driving force for the series, taking the helm from Clary and Jace. Hard acts to follow but “Jemma/Blackstairs” are already firm favourites with me and Lady Midnight certainly lived up to my high expectations. As well as getting to know Emma, the Blackthorn family and their friends, there were also some lovely tidbits of information about the cast of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. I can’t say much more without major spoilers, which is difficult, because this book is just so brilliant and all I want to do is talk about it. All I can really say is that I loved it and the double/triple/mulitple cliffhangers Cassandra Clare left us with were shocking, devastating, heart-breaking… and I cannot wait for Lord of Shadows next year!

View all my reviews

P.S. The photo was taken on the approach to West Sands in St Andrews, Scotland (of Chariots of Fire fame). So much of Lady Midnight is set on the beach or by the sea that I wanted to use that as a theme… I didn’t quite make it to Los Angeles but Scotland still provided a good setting (though a tad more blustery, I imagine!)

Originally posted to Tumblr on 20 April 2016

