Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Passenger is an amazing book. I loved the concept, imagining something like Treasure Island crossed with Doctor Who, but it was so much more and exceeded my high expectations. With this book, you don’t just get to explore the culture of different parts of the world but also the culture of different times. Both Etta and Nicholas are born in New York but live almost 250 years apart, until the passages bring them together. I loved their relationship and how they seemed to understand each other despite their individual life experiences. Some of my favourite scenes include Etta and Nicholas’ initial interactions on board the Challenger, their trip to wartime London and the cliffhanger ending. This book is a new favourite of mine and I am very excited to read Wayfarer next year.

View all my reviews

P.S. Old luggage trunks courtesy of the Mid Hants Railway.

Originally posted to Tumblr on 25 May 2016

