Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There seemed to be a lot of hype around this book and I think it lived up to most of it. It was very different from anything I’ve read recently and I liked that originality. The opening scenes were great: Amani immediately stood out as a strong protagonist and I became invested in her story straight away. There were a few moments early on when I got a little bored but this was mainly when Jin wasn’t around. The chemistry and banter between Amani and Jin is brilliant – I’d recommend this book just for that – but there’s also lots of action, lots of mystery and mythology. I think this book could have benefited from a map as I got a bit confused by the geography. I guess it would have been too spoilery at this stage but I’m hoping we’ll get one for book two. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and couldn’t put it down at times, particularly near the end when there are a lot of twists and reveals in quick succession.

View all my reviews

P.S. Sand courtesy of West Sands (think Chariots of Fire) in St Andrews, Scotland. See also my Lady Midnight review.

Originally posted to Tumblr on 24 April 2016

