The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is absolutely a love story, but it’s more than just a girl-meets-boy scenario. It’s about love lost too soon, about finding – and learning to accept – new love, but also about the love Rose has for her family (or almost family) and her best friend; her love of painting, love for her cat (I adore Taylor!) and, of course, love of her home town, Talting. That is definitely what I liked most about this book. It could have easily just dealt with Rose’s romantic storyline and forgotten all these other important parts of her life, but all those things needed to come together and be resolved before the inevitable (but very welcome) happy ending. This book is emotional, heart-warming and gentle with a heroine who is brave enough to love again after such a tragic event. A lovely contemporary read, perfect for summer.

View all my reviews

Originally posted to Tumblr on 9 May 2016

