How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The one thing that really isn’t hard to do, is love this book. It was sweet and funny and honest and, of course, feminist! The love story was adorable but without being too straightforward; the kind with lots of mishaps and misunderstandings, which I adore. I loved Amber’s voice and her hilarious tales, including flying with a hangover, drunken camp fire parties and getting stuck in a canoe! The book is set at an American summer camp in California, which was an interesting setting and made me want to travel again. I thought I was going to miss Evie and Lottie because of this but they were always there for long-distance Spinster Club meetings. (Lottie’s feminist lectures are the best, I always learn new things!) But I liked Amber’s American friends too, especially Kyle. There was lots of family drama alongside the humour and romance, and I loved how brave Amber became, particularly towards the end of the book.

View all my reviews

