London Belongs to Us by Sarra Manning

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s been a while since I last read a Sarra Manning book (yeah, I don’t know what I’ve been doing either!) and her latest YA doesn’t disappoint. I thought it was rather apt that I read London Belongs To Us while staying in London, mostly on trains or the underground. The whole book is a nighttime adventure stretching across the city and set over a twelve hour period. There’s a great, diverse cast of characters, led by Sunny, which includes some old favourites in the form of Molly and Jane from Guitar Girl. Over the course of one crazy night out, Sunny travels across London on assorted modes of transport with two cute French boys and a broom in tow, chasing down her flighty boyfriend. I loved how Sunny came out of her shell in those twelve hours. She’s easygoing but also a bit of a pushover at the start, and it’s brilliant to see her transform, becoming more feisty and assertive and taking no prisoners. Other things I loved include the Godards, Vic and Jean-Luc, all the little London facts, the lists and pie charts (“broom management”) at the beginning of chapters; the Vespa rides, the night-bus singalongs and an eventful stop at the Ritz; the Charleston and of course the Duckie gig. The one thing I didn’t love? Mark (aforementioned runaway boyfriend).

View all my reviews

