What’s a Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Sometimes the hardest books to review are the ones you love the most. I keep trying to pick out my favourite moments or my favourite characters when actually I just loved it all! (Even the parts where I wanted to sob along with Lottie.) So, instead, I’ll talk about how this book made me feel because, really, if I had to describe What’s a Girl Gotta Do?, the first word I’d pick is INSPIRING. After I’d finished reading, I felt all empowered and ready to take on the world just like Lottie did. I wanted to tell all my friends, my family, my colleagues, complete strangers about this book. I wanted to quote it every time I saw something sexist. I wanted to start my own feminism campaign, create my own Spinster Club. Before I read the Spinster Club Trilogy, I thought I was pretty switched on but they’ve definitely made me more aware of sexism in my everyday life and now I’m much more likely to point it out. I feel like Lottie (and Evie and Amber) have given me the arguments and the evidence to have more confidence in speaking out. That’s why I love these books. They have taught me so much in such a short space of time and without ever compromising the story. If I could, I’d make them compulsory reading.

View all my reviews

