The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d never read a Terry Pratchett book before so when I had the opportunity to borrow an audio book of his first Discworld novel, I thought I’d give it a go. It’s not the sort of book I’d usually pick up so it was good to try out something new. I wasn’t expecting it to be so funny and I was often laughing out loud in my car. Every character was a little bit (or a lot!) ridiculous and Tony Robinson is the perfect storyteller for this, with a different voice for every character. I’m not sure if I’ll read/listen to another Discworld book but I’m glad I tried it out. My final point – and this was my main criticism really – is that there was a distinct lack of female characters in this book. It would NOT pass the Bechdel test!

View all my reviews

