The Call by Peadar Ó Guilín

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I can see how this book got a description like “the Irish Hunger Games” with it’s dystopian Ireland and teens training to fight for their lives. But there’s also a parallel fantasy world inhabited by the fairy-like Sidhe, called the Grey Land, which reminded me a little of Susan Ee’s version of hell in the Angelfall trilogy. This book is gripping but really creepy and sometimes gory, with this constant suspense and feeling of unease because you don’t know if and when the characters will be “called”. There are quite a lot of characters to keep track of and sometimes I wished I’d taken notes. Also, it feels like the ending is setting things up nicely for a sequel. “We won the battle,” Mrs Breen tells her students but perhaps not the war.

View all my reviews

