Oops! I feel bad that I’ve rather neglected my blog lately. I am so behind on book reviews and it’s really depressing, with about 6 to write/photograph/share. There was a whole series of blog posts I wanted to do over the summer but never got round to writing. Now autumn is well and truly here, so I’ll have to save it for next year. I also wanted to do a wrap-up of #YADay at Bath Children’s Literature Festival, but that was almost a month ago now and I’m wondering if it’s still relevant. It also took me a frustrating three and a half weeks to read Replica by Lauren Oliver because I was so busy. Life, eh?

Now that I’ve listed all my recent blogging failures, here is another project that may also be destined to fail: NaNoWriMo 2016.

Yes, I signed up for a second year. I picked out my novel idea ages ago, with the best of intentions to plan and research and be 100% prepared before November. It didn’t happen. I’m going into it almost blind this year. I have zero plan, an incomplete cast of characters and haven’t even decided yet whether I’ll be writing in past or present tense or first or third person. (I’ve gone with past tense/third person for day one but this is not a style I’m comfortable with at all so that’s likely to change!)

Add to all of the above that, in all honesty, I don’t even think I’ve got time for NaNoWriMo this month. My nearest and dearest have warned against it, convinced I’m trying to do too much. There’s a good chance they’re right about that. Still, it’ll feel like a missed opportunity if I don’t even try. I have an idea and that’s all you really need, right?

I have a title too, albeit a working title. My theoretical novel is called The Aultlarie Book and is set on a Scottish Highland estate where my main character, Lizzie, is working for the summer and researching her family’s history.

It sounds daft. It probably is. But I guess I’ll never know unless I write it. If you want to join me/follow me/laugh at my lack of progress, then I’m alicerwb at Nanowrimo.org

