It’s the end of the year and I have the same feeling I always have: that I haven’t read nearly as many books as I would have liked. But I did read more books than last year and I did complete most of my 2016 reading goals, so it’s not all bad.

I set my Goodreads Reading Challenge at 30 books this year. I know it sounds like a low number, but I am a frustratingly slow reader and I knew it was going to be a really busy year. I didn’t want to set it at a figure that was unattainable.

Anyway, Goodreads tells me I surpassed my goal and finished 39 books (and 12,542 pages) this year! A quick look at that list and a more realistic total is actually 34 books, as Goodreads has included a couple of e-books and short stories.

So here’s the breakdown of what I read this year:

My top ten books of 2016:

  1. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  2. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
  3. The Smell Of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
  4. The Next Together by Lauren James
  5. How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne
  6. One by Sarah Crossan
  7. Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall
  8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  9. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Sailsbury
  10. Hello, Goodbye and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith
2016-12-31-20-04-25copy
And despite my attempt to read more “adult” books this year, all my favourites were YA!

Bookish adventures/memories/highlights:

  • Attending YALC 2016 as part of an amazing weekend in London was a definite highlight – I’m already plotted how to go back next year!
  • Moving my blog to WordPress  – this was a daunting move but such a good decision in the end.
  • Receiving my first review copies (7 books I read this year were sent to me by publishers, which is really exciting!)
  • Discovering #ukyachat on Twitter
  • Asking every author I met at YALC for their book recommendations and creating a huge blog post
  • All the times I took pictures of books in public… and got odd looks/laughed at/people asking what on earth I was doing!?
  • Book events at my local library – I love listening to authors talk about their books/writing process and it was great to do this without travelling too far!

20160730_140956

Most anticipated book of 2016: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Unexpected favourite of the year: The Smell Of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock (this also wins the prize for book I’ve recommended the most this year)

Favourite “adult” book: The Second Love Of My Life by Victoria Walters

Audio book: The Colour Of Magic by Terry Pratchett

Short stories: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy (Cassandra Clare and friends), The Beautifull Cassandra (Jane Austen) and I’ll Be Home For Christmas (UKYA authors)

Token classic: Lady Susan by Jane Austen

Important must-reads of the year: Asking For It by Louise O’Neill and the Spinster Club trilogy by Holly Bourne

Scariest book: The Call by Peadar Ó Guilín

Funniest book(s): What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne and Geek Girl by Holly Smale

Token Sarah Dessen book of the year: Along For The Ride – so excited for her new book next year!

Book that had the biggest impact on my year: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne – I’ve said before that I really struggled to read this book (even though it’s brilliant) but the lasting impact is that it made me stop and think “enough is enough” and finally sign up to CBT.

Longest book (according to Goodreads): Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – 698 pages

Shortest book (according to Goodreads): The Beautifull Cassandra by Jane Austen – 64 pages

So, there you have it: my 2016 in books! Here’s to a 2017 that’s full of more brilliant reads. Happy new year!

Save

Save

