I’ve never done a book tag before but I thought this one sounded fun and decided to “tag” myself! (Though I discovered it through Probability Reading).

The rules are:

  • You must be honest
  • You can’t not answer a question
  • You have to tag at least four people [this might be difficult!]

Here goes!

  1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
    The Little House On The Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder – my Dad read these to me when I was little (he’d been to America for work and bought them there).
  2. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?
    Current read: How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran
    Last read: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
    Next read: Not sure. Maybe Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton – I really want to read it but I keep getting put off by how big it is (yes, I’m lazy!)
  3. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?
    The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I know it’s a classic/must-read but it took me three attempts to finish it. I like her writing style but found it too traumatic/depressing. Perhaps I’ll try it again one day when I’m older and wiser (I did read it quite a few years ago now).
  4. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
    A colleague at work recommended Wool by Hugh Howey. It’s now sat on my TBR pile for a few years and I’m wondering if I’ll ever find time for it…
  5. Which book are you saving for “retirement”?
    I’m not sure about retirement, hopefully I’ll have worked through my TBR by then! I’ve been saving Summer Days and Summer Nights (short story collection) and The Square Root Of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood for the summer months.
  6. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?
    I’m terrible at reading ahead, and then having to go back and read the bits I’ve missed (I know, it’s my worst reading habit!) I don’t often read the last page, but if I do, it’s to read the last line. I love last lines of books because they’re not often spoilery, just ambiguous, but make perfect sense when you get to the end. I could write a whole blog post about last lines!
  7. Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?
    I think it’s important that author’s get the opportunity to say thanks to those who have helped them along the way. Whether or not I read them depends on how much I liked the book/author.
  8. Which book character would you switch places with?
    From my recent reads I’d say Lexi from Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt. I want her job!
  9. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?
    I read Divergent while I was on a road trip around Scotland. I had to keep pulling over to read more – it was that much of a page-turner! Lots of memories sitting at viewpoints/cafes/hostel rooms reading this book.
  10. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way.
    When the City of Bones movie came out a few years ago, the publisher/film people hid copies of the book in Vue cinemas around the UK. By chance, I saw them tweet that one was in the cinema nearest me and I was pretty sure I knew where it was hidden, so I decided on a whim to go up there. I was sure someone would beat me to it (it’s a 30-40min drive away) but it was still there! Better still, the book was signed by Robert Sheehan (Simon in the movie).
  11. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?
    I don’t think I’ve ever given away one of my books (I feel mean now!) but I love buying people books for birthdays etc.
  12. Which book has been with you to the most places?
    Probably This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen. It’s my go-to comfort read, so it’s been read a lot and has therefore probably gone lots of places with me.
  13. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
    It’s been more than two years but I didn’t like Romeo and Juliet at school, then when I went to see it in London last year (when I was there for YALC), I loved it! Now I want to re-read it.
  14. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?
    I did find money in a book once. I think I put it in there temporarily when tidying up but forgot about it and found it months later!
  15. Used or brand new?
    I’ll sometimes pick up used books from charity shops etc. if they’re in a good condition, but I prefer to buy new. I’ll always hunt through piles of books in book shops to find the perfect copy with no marks or creases!
  16. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?
    I read The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons ages ago. I enjoyed them at the time but have no desire to read his other books.
  17. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?
    I read The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks after seeing the movie (yes, I know, wrong way round) and hated it! Also, I think the Heartland TV show has done brilliantly with adapting the Heartland series of books by Lauren Brooke. I loved these books as a kid but feel there’s so much more depth to the TV show. (It’s on Netflix!)
  18. A book that NEVER should have been published.
    Um… Mein Kampf?
  19. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?
    Yes! If you have read Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen you will probably also answer yes to this question. The characters spend the entire book eating pizza, chips and lollipops. I was craving pizza so much afterwards!
  20. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
    I can’t think of anyone! These days I tend to get recommended books through a combination of Twitter, You Tube and book shop recommendations.

I’m going to tag Amanda at Chocolate Pages and Donna at The Untitled Book Blog and anyone else who wants to give it a go!

