The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book had been recommended to me a lot and I can now see why. I love how it’s written; it’s beautiful but everything feels very fragile. Each chapter is preceded by one of Lennie’s scattered poems and I loved the concept as well as the poems themselves. There are eccentric and funny characters, but there’s still this sadness that surrounds them, that they start to work through over the course of the story. Bailey felt like a real, present character too, even though she only appears in memories and poems. Overall, I think The Sky Is Everywhere is a book that has romance at it’s heart, but the love story is very much complicated by grief. I liked the contrast between Lennie’s friendships/relationships with Joe (buoyant and exciting and brand new) and Toby (confused and grieving but with a shared history). I really liked that ending too.

View all my reviews

