The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There’s so much hype surrounding this book and I’m not exaggerating when I say that it lives up to all of it! It packs quite a punch from the very first chapters and it doesn’t let up. It’s horrifying, anger-inducing, and completely devastating. Yet, it manages to also be warm and empowering and gutsy. Starr’s voice is superbly written. She leaps off the page and draws you into her world and, despite the heavy subject matter, I was surprised at how much humour there is. In particular, I loved Starr’s parents, who are hilarious! This book has such an important message – it should be compulsory reading for all – but it’s also an un-put-downable, character-driven story.

Thank you to Walker Books UK for the review copy.

View all my reviews

