Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The second book in the Dark Artifices trilogy had a tough act to follow after last year’s Lady Midnight, but it more than met my expectations. It’s an epic tale and covers a lot of ground, figuratively and literally: from Los Angeles to Fairie, then to the London Institute and the Cornish coast, before portaling into Idris for the finale. In her usual style, Cassandra Clare manages to juggle multiple storylines with ease, ensuring that every character has their own story to tell, when it would be so easy to just focus on Emma and Julian. The descriptions are brilliant: I could clearly visualise every scene, the emotions felt real and raw, and each character is fully developed, with flaws and vulnerabilities. The ending, despite it’s typical cliffhanger, was possibly the bleakest I’ve read in any Shadowhunter novel yet. This book completely broke my heart but then, to be honest, I was expecting it to!

View all my reviews

Photo taken above Durness Beach on the north coast of Scotland.

