Here are my favourite moments from YALC Day 2:

YALC in numbers:

  • Panels – 5
  • Workshops – 0 😦
  • Signings – 10
  • Books bought/acquired – 6
  • Number of book recommendations – 25+ (Will Hill had so many, I lost count!)

Favourite panel:

E Lockhart, chaired by Holly Bourne. As part of her street team (more on that in a mo) I had a front row seat!

I also loved the “Books That Made Me” panel, some lovely stories from the three panelists: Joanne Harris, Laini Taylor and V E Schwab.

Book I’m most excited to read:

Genuine Fraud! (There’s likely to be quite an E Lockhart theme to this post). It sounds intriguing and the story is told backwards, which is a really interesting style and not something I’ve read before.

New author or book I’ve discovered:

S.T.A.G.S. by M A Bennett – I picked up a copy of this from the Hot Key stand and got it signed this afternoon. I think it’s about to be made into a tv series or film too.

Most awesome workshop:

Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to any workshops today because I was running about like mad. Hoping to go to one or two tomorrow.

Best extra-curricular activity:

Genuine Fraud fun! I was lucky enough to be chosen to be part of E Lockhart’s Street Team. After putting on our identical disguises (t-shirt, blonde wig and sunglasses), we headed out on to the YALC floor to give out Genuine Fraud book samplers. It was lots of fun (if a little embarrassing!)

Funniest moments:

1) The toilet paper running out in the ladies and having to pass one giant loo roll down the queue to help ourselves before heading in. Who says YALC isn’t glamorous?

2) Benedict Cumberbatch inadvertently walking in on Non Pratt’s charity head shave and everyone screaming at him!

Authors most excited to meet:

I was excited to meet Jennifer E Smith so was really sad when I missed her signing. Luckily I spotted her at her publisher’s stand (My Kinda Book) and she was lovely and kindly signed all four of my books and tote bag and gave me loads of book recommendations for a later blog post.

Loveliest authors:

Jennifer E Smith (see above) and also Katherine Webber, who is so lovely and always happy to chat. She also wrote out a post it note with all her book recommendations so watch this space!

Best swag/best publisher stand:

Today it’s got to be Hot Key Books for organising the E Lockhart Street Team and my awesome goodie bag (I couldn’t wait to get rid of my wig though and donated it to some passing cosplayers!) Also I got a cute little pin badge with my copy of S.T.A.G.S.

To sum up:

Although it took up a chunk of the day and was a bit embarrassing at times (all wig-related) I really loved being part of E Lockhart’s Street Team. Hoping for a slightly less hectic YALC tomorrow!

