YALC is over for another year (boo!) Here’s my round-up of day 3:

YALC in numbers:

  • Panels – 2
  • Workshops – 1
  • Signings – 12
  • Books bought/acquired – 9
  • Number of book recommendations – 21

Favourite panel:

Fandom! It was the perfect panel for YALC and Lucy Saxon was a great Chair.

Books I’m most excited to read:

I love the concepts of Countless by Karen Gregory and And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon – can’t wait to read these!

New author or book I’ve discovered:

The Opposite Of Okay by Laura Steven – finally got my hands on a proof copy!

Most awesome workshop:

Katy Cannon’s road tripping workshop was excellent, where we learnt how to break down the “journey” our characters go on. I’m going to try this exercise with my writing group when I get home.

Best extra-curricular activity:

Not sure if anything fell into this category today but I did enjoy getting a sneak peek at the cover of Alwyn Hamilton’s next book, Hero at the Fall. So pretty!

Funniest moment:

I’m still smiling about the funny messages Patrick Ness left in my books after I told him I’d stolen A Monster Calls from my Dad. (Also, the multiple sightings of Benedict Cumberbatch were hilarious!)

Authors most excited to meet:

Having heard so many good things about The Fandom and getting a proof copy earlier in the weekend, I was excited to meet Anna Day and get my book signed. She was so nice!

Loveliest authors:

It was lovely chatting to Simon James Green and then later Maggie Harcourt about YALC. Also Sarah Crossan, who recognised me from last year (which is always lovely but so surprising) and asked her publicist if there were any Moonrise proofs left as I’d missed out (unfortunately not!)

Best swag/best publisher stand:

I loved the set up of the Chapter 5 and Hodderscape stand as it looked like an old-fashioned library (inspired my Laini Taylor). A lot of effort went into the publisher stands this year, I thought.

To sum up:

YALC was so hectic and I’m now so tired I can barely think straight but I had such a brilliant time and would do it all over again tomorrow! Roll on YALC 2018!

